Savannah’s Happiness Rules to Live By

July 25, 2012 § Leave a comment

I have found a great amount of inspiration in Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project. To be honest, when I first picked up the book I thought it sounded tacky, so I had low expectations for it… but I was desperate for a change in my life. It was time to take charge and work towards making the most of every moment. No more sitting around and being passive! You are the only one who can make a difference in your own life. If you wait for change to happen, it will never come. You must initiate it. Fortunately, the book turned out to be an incredible find and I have since then been taking steps on my own Happiness Project (or rather, my Happiness “Journey”) – and telling everyone about it. It’s been a slow process to get going, and for now, most of my resolutions are only existing in my head.

But, some of the things that I’m working on have made their way to a small pad of paper. Gretchen Rubin wrote a list of things to remember when living her life. She called it her Twelve Commandments. I wanted to call mine something else because I feel like the title carries too much of a religious implication (even though after a quick search I discovered that “Commandment” simply means “a divine rule”).

And… let’s face it; I have a list of nineteen! I will admit that most of them are subcategories of another, but it helps for me to see each specific thing, as I will explain in the future.

Gretchen Rubin’s first Commandment is “Be Gretchen.” I have adopted this philosophy as well – be yourself. Don’t give in to peer pressure and do what you want to do.

Here are mine. What are yours?

1. Be Savannah.
2. Be an athlete.
3. Be an artist.
4. Express yourself through your body.
5. Love what you do and pour your heart into it.
6. Confidence is the key.
7. Do it now. Tomorrow never comes.
8. Do what you know needs to be done, little by little.
9. Do it, don’t think about doing it.
10. Be mindful. Live in the present.
11. Just breathe.
12. There is only love.
13. Love thyself. Practice patience and tolerance. Don’t punish yourself.
14. Give yourself permission.
15. Believe you deserve happiness.
16. Don’t sell yourself short. Give yourself what you deserve.
17. Live your life. Don’t live someone else’s life.
18. Identify the problem so you can face it and deal with it.
19. Have big goals, but enjoy the process of getting there.


Share your thoughts...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading Savannah’s Happiness Rules to Live By at Savannah Wishart.


%d bloggers like this: