Short and Long Term Goals

November 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

Setting goals for yourself are important in your life if you want to make progress – be-it business, personal, health… you name it. Set sight on your dreams and break down the time so that the steps put the big ideas into a manageable perspective. Yes, a ten year goal can become overwhelming, but if you look at how you will make progress in one year, three years, and five years, you can stay grounded and have patience during the pursuit. After all, life is all about the journey!

If you need inspiration, you can use Lululemon’s “Vision and Goals” worksheet:

A good resource like this can be a good inspiration to take the first steps toward dreaming. Now that you have that resource, take time to meditate on your goals. Make sure to give yourself the time, space and environment to find stillness in your life. Focus on what you want and the results you want from those things. Be specific. Make sure to review and revise your goals – in the beginning you might want to review your goals every couple of days. As you start to find confidence in your dreams, you might review your goals every month and eventually work up to quarterly goals.

As my dreams have begun developing, I have found the beginning to be filled with different ideas popping up each day and I have to revise my goals based on that change. But as I find clarity in my vision, my ideas are becoming more grounded and I am able to focus on more stable ideas.

Lululemon recommends using the present tense to make your goals more likely to be achieved. My biggest goal right now is to get back into a fit and healthy routine, so what is my goal? I am going to get healthy again. Wrong! I am eating paleo and exercising at least an hour a day, mixing cardio and simple body weight exercises, to achieve a level of fitness I am proud of by February 2013. What goals do you want to turn into reality?

Share your thoughts...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Short and Long Term Goals at Savannah Wishart.

meta

